From 1999....

Wu Tang Center for Martial Arts Presents the Upcoming Seminars:

Bagua Tight-hand Form : Authentic Yin Fu Style Baguazhang

Taught by Master Yang Shu-ton

This form is one of the most deadly and beautiful bagua forms. It is the foundation form for the Deer Horn Knives and Hooked Sword. This form was taught to Master Yang Shu-ton by the late Grandmaster Liu Yun-Qiao, who was a disciple of Gong Bao-Tian.

June 26-27 at the Wu Tang Center for Martial Arts.


Saturday, June 26 10 am - 1 pm, break for lunch, 2:30 - 5 pm

Sunday, June 27 10 am - noon

Additionally, review classes will be held on Saturdays July 10 and August 14 at 9 am for those who have taken the seminar and wish to have their material checked.

September 11-12, Deer Horn Knives will be offered to those who have the basic Tight-hand form. Also at the Wu Tang Center for Martial Arts.

Bagua Seminars with Master Su held March 13-14, 1999

 Bagua Quan Weapons: Dao (Saber) Form: Long Pan Da Dao

Bagua Quan has many weapons, and the reason for this is that most of the weapon forms originate from the open hand forms of Bagua Quan. In Master Su's lineage, stemming from Tong Hai-Shen, Yu Fu, Kong Pao-Tien, Liu Yun-Qiao, down to Su Yu-Chang, the study of the Bagua Quan saber consists of three parts. The first one being the Dan Dao (Short Saber, Single), Bagua Qi Men Dao (Saber of the Mystical Places). The second one being Shuang Dao (Double Saber), Xue Hua Shuang Dao (Falling Snowflakes Double Saber). The third one being Bagua Da Dao ( Bagua Big Saber), the big or long saber also found in the Bagua Quan system. It was used on horse back, during the ancient wars. The name of the form is Long Pan Da Dao (Big Saber of the Swirling Dragon) after one has learned and practiced the movements with this weapon, one will notice his or her internal energy, as well as back (spine), arms and legs becoming stronger.

 Bagua "Fist" Form: Bagua Ba Xing Zhang

In any Chinese Martial Art the most basic, is the most important. Many masters do not wish to teach this, because they are wary of their students. But if a good master wishes for his students to overcome the others, he has to start the teachings from this very beginning. Once you have learned Bagua Ba Xing Zhang, it will be easier for you to feel the secrets in other Bagua Quan movements. This form consists of eight basic sequences. Within these eight sequences one practices the twelve fundamental energy movements of Bagua Quan, three methods of generating power from the waist in Bagua Quan and movements to unify the five elements. The names of the eight basic sequences are as following:


1. Yi Ma Wen Lu:- Holding the horses reins to ask the way. In this sequence four movements to mobilize of the body are practiced. Ning (to wrench), Xuan (to revolve), Zou (to walk), and Zhuan (to turn). The steps used resemble that of a duck's webbed foot.

2. Chuan Zhen Ying Xian:- Threading a needle. This sequence the four arm movements are practiced. Guen (to roll), Zuan (to bore), Zheng (pull open), and Guo (to wrap). The steps used resemble that of the chickenís feet or a claw.

3. Da Xue Xun Mei:- Treading through the snow looking for plum blossoms. This sequence uses four movements of the legs. Qi (to lift), Luo (to fall), Bai (to swing), and Kou (to hook). The steps used resemble of a horseís hoof.

4. Bai She Chan Shen:- White snake enrolls itís body. In Bagua Quan there are three exercises that concentrate on the energy of the spinal column. In this movement the spine resembles a snake, boring itís self along the way.

5. Xiong Ying Pan Wo:- The majestic eagle circling the nest. This movement is that of an eagle. The spine is exercised in a swinging motion.

6.Qing Long Jiao Shui:- The green dragon agitates the waters. In this movement the spine represents a dragon, curling itís body.

7. San Jie Lian Huan:- Three chains linked together. This movement uses the Yin Qi, or the energy generated by the nutrition.

8. Shui Huo Xiang Jiao:- Bringing together and unifying water with fire. This movement uses the Wei Qi, or the unification of the five energies.

After having learned each of the basic sequences, one starts to learn Ba Xing Lian Zhang. This form consists of the combination of the eight basic sequences. 

<Back to Seminars